Plan ahead: public holidays in 2019

Analysis

Plan ahead: public holidays in 2019

It's never too early to start planning. Here's a list of public holidays for each state and territory in 2019.

WantToReadMore

Get unlimited access to all of our content.

It's never too early to start planning. Here's a list of public holidays for each state and territory in 2019.

These holidays may be subject to change (including additional holidays) by proclamation or gazettal by the relevant state or territory government.

An employee’s entitlement to a public holiday is determined by the Fair Work Act (sections 114-116) and the relevant state or territory public holiday legislation.

Payment for work performed on a public holiday is determined by the applicable modern award or enterprise agreement. Subscribers will be advised of any change to the date of observance of a public holiday or the declaration of any additional public holiday.

National public holidays 2019


New Year’s Day – Tuesday 1 January
Australia Day – Monday 28 January
Good Friday – Friday 19 April
Easter Saturday (except Tas and WA) – Saturday 20 April
Easter Monday – Monday 22 April
Anzac Day – Thursday 25 April
Queen’s Birthday (except Qld and WA) – Monday 10 June
Christmas Day – Wednesday 25 December
Boxing Day (Proclamation Day in SA) – Thursday 26 December

Australian Capital Territory

Canberra Day – Monday 11 March
Easter Sunday – Sunday 21 April
Reconciliation Day – Monday 27 May
Labour Day – Monday 7 October

New South Wales

Easter Sunday – Sunday 21 April
Labour Day – Monday 7 October

Northern Territory

May Day – Monday 6 May
Picnic Day – Monday 5 August
Christmas Eve (7pm-midnight) – Tuesday 24 December
New Year’s Eve (7pm-midnight) – Tuesday 31 December

Queensland

Easter Sunday – Sunday 1 April
Labour Day – Monday 7 May
Royal Queensland Show (Brisbane area only) – Wednesday 15 August
Queen’s Birthday – Monday 1 October

South Australia

March public holiday – Monday 11 March
Labour Day – Monday 7 October
Christmas Eve (7pm-midnight) – Tuesday 24 December
New Year’s Eve (7pm-midnight) – Tuesday 31 December

Tasmania

Royal Hobart Regatta Day (south of and including Oatlands) – Monday 11 February
Eight Hours Day – Monday 11 March
Recreation Day (north of Oatlands) – Monday 4 November

Victoria

Easter Sunday – Sunday 21 April
Labour Day – Monday 11 March
AFL Grand Final – subject to AFL schedule
Melbourne Cup Day – Tuesday 5 November

Western Australia

Labour Day – Monday 4 March
Western Australia Day – Monday 3 June
Queens’ Birthday – Monday 30 September

Payment for working a public holiday


Payment for any work performed by an employee on a public holiday is determined by the applicable modern award or enterprise agreement. In the case of award/agreement-free employees, payment for work performed is subject to the terms of the employee’s contract of employment.

Local or regional holidays


It should be noted that a public holiday can be declared for a particular region or locality within a state or a territory. Reference should be made to the relevant state or territory website to determine the date of any regional or local holiday.
Post details